Final Round Recap – The Island Resort Championship at Sweetgrass


Molly Aronsson winner of the 2014 Island Resort Championship

Shooting a final-round even-par 72, it was Vermont native Molly Aronsson who finished one stroke in front of former college teammate Sadena Parks to capture the 2014 Island Resort Championship.

Aronsson’s victory at Sweetgrass marks her first competitive win and makes her the ninth first-time winner on the Symetra Tour in 2014. Molly entered the final round in a tie for sixth place, three shots behind Lacey Agnew who led the pack at the conclusion of Saturday’s play. Aronsson wasted no time on Sunday landing three birdies within the first four holes putting her at 3-under par. However a bogey on the 7th hole placed Molly at 2-under-par as she made the turn.

Former college teammate Sadena Parks was the last group to tee off on Sunday and after a birdie on the 11th held a two-shot lead over Aronsson to move to 3-under-par. However, back to back bogeys on the 12th & 13th holes by Parks evened out the score for the former teammates at 1-under-par.

Sadena Parks

Sadena Parks

With birdie on the 15th hole, Parks advanced into the lead position by one stroke. Aronsson who was three groups ahead of Parks made par on the 18th hole finishing the day at 1-under-par.

After a bogey on 17, Parks fell back to 1-under par. With her tee shot landing in the water off of #18, Parks was forced to get up and down from the spectator area adjacent to the green. After missing a 10-foot putt Parks fell one stroke behind Aronsson costing her the championship.

With her win at Sweetgrass, Aronsson moves from 117th to 13th on the Volvik Race for the Card Money List. In addition, Min Seo Qwak was named as the “Current Potawatomi Cup Leader” and presented with a check for her cumulative winnings of $9,000.

Copy of DSC_0675

Min Seo Kwak Potawatomi Cup Leader


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *